California Lemon Law Summary
Below is a summary of Lemon Law rules and statutes in California. Keep in mind that rules and laws change. It’s always a good idea to confirm the rules your state’s consumer protection agency or with further research.
What Vehicles Are Covered by the Lemon Law?
Vehicles used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes, excluding motorcycles, portions of motor homes used primarily for habitation, or off-road vehicles. Includes the chassis, chassis cab and that portion of a motor home devoted to its population, includes a dealer-owned vehicle and a “demonstrator.”
What Number of Repair Attempts Triggers Lemon Law Protection?
2 repair attempts for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.
To What Age/Mileage Does the Lemon Law Cover a Vehicle?
18 months – 18,000 miles which ever occurs first.
Some Related Articles
Michael Spadaccini is the author of 8 books on self-help legal matters such as, Ultimate LLC Compliance Guide: Covers All 50 States (Ultimate Series), Ultimate Book of Forming Corps, LLCs, Partnerships & Sole Proprietorships, and Ultimate Guide to Forming an LLC in Any State, Second Edition (Ultimate Series).
You can view his Amazon Author Profile Here.
Leave a ReplyWant to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!