The following table sets forth a comprehensive summary of this state’s LLC laws, filing requirements, taxation and more.
Keep in mind though, that the information in this table is subject to the whim of each state’s lawmakers, so the information is constantly changing.
It’s a good idea to do a reality check with the Secretary of State’s office to confirm that the information is still current.
|Secretary of State Contact Information||Kansas Secretary of State
First Floor, Memorial Hall
120 S. W. 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
(785) 296-4570 (fax)
|LLC Filing and Assistance Website Address||www.kssos.org|
|LLC Filing Fees||The fee for organizing an LLC is $150. Foreign LLCs may file a Foreign Limited Liability Company form and submit a filing fee of $150.|
|LLC Name Reservation Information and Fees||Name reservation is not available for LLCs.|
|Link to Get LLC Formation Forms||www.kssos.org/forms/forms.html|
|Periodic LLC Reporting Requirements||LLCs must pay an annual Franchise Tax now called a ‘Franchise Fee’ of $55; see below for information on the separate Franchise Tax . The franchise fee must be paid to the Kansas Secretary of State with the entity’s annual report. Both may be submitted electronically at the Kansas Business Center. To file the annual report and pay the franchise fee by mail, you may visit this Web site to download and print forms and instructions.|
|Link to Get LLC Tax Forms||www.ksrevenue.org/forms-bustax.htm|
|Additional Information||Kansas publishes a thorough and helpful ‘Kansas Corporate Handbook,” available from the Secretary of State’ s website.|
|LLC Tax Summary||Kansas recently enacted changes to its Franchise Tax and fee law requires businesses to pay a Franchise Tax to the Kansas Department of Revenue and a separate franchise fee to the Secretary of State (discussed above). Both are due the 15th day of the fourth month following the tax year end; e.g. April 15, 2005, for entities with a December 31 tax year end.
The new Franchise Tax , which carries a maximum of $20,000, works as follows. Business entities that have $100,000 of net worth or more in the state must pay to the Kansas Department of Revenue a Franchise Tax of 0.125% of the total net worth. Business entities required to pay the tax will file a return with the Department of Revenue, which must be accompanied by the taxpayer’s balance sheet.
|LLC Statute||Chapter 17, Article 76 of the Kansas Statutes|
Some Related Articles
Michael Spadaccini is the author of 8 books on self-help legal matters such as, Ultimate LLC Compliance Guide: Covers All 50 States (Ultimate Series), Ultimate Book of Forming Corps, LLCs, Partnerships & Sole Proprietorships, and Ultimate Guide to Forming an LLC in Any State, Second Edition (Ultimate Series).
You can view his Amazon Author Profile Here.