What follows is a brief but informative summary of rules, procedures, and filings requirements for small claims court in Massachusetts. Keep in mind that rules and laws change. It’s always a good idea to confirm the rules with the court or with further research.

Maximum Jurisdictional Dollar Amount: The maximum dollar amount is $2,000, but there is no limit for property damage caused by motor vehicles .

Where Suit May Be Brought: Where plaintiff or defendant resides or Where the defendant has regular business or is employed. Landlord-tenant cases Where property is.

Proper Manner of Service of Process upon Defendant: Service may be made by certified or registered mail, sheriff, or constable.

How the Hearing Date Is Selected: The hearing date is set by the court.

Attorney Representation Rule: Attorneys are allowed.

Special Provisions Regarding Transfer or Jurisdiction of Cases: At judge’s discretion, the case shall be tried under regular civil procedure of appropriate court.

Availability of Appeals: The defendant may appeal for a new trial to Superior Court within 10 days.

Special Rules and Notes: In Massachusetts, Small Claims is a division of the Municipal Court in Boston, the District Court in the remainder of the Commonwealth. Small claims court cannot hear libel and/or slander cases. Court may refer cases to mediation if both sides agree. For consumer complaints, plaintiff must make a demand 30 days before filing suit. Attorneys fees can be recovered, and triple damages are available.

Small Claims CourtWant to learn more?

Buy the book!
The Small Claims Court Guidebook from Entrepreneur Magazine and LearnAboutLaw .

The Small Claims Court Guidebook teaches you everything you need to win big in small claims court, without a lawyer. You’ll learn how to evaluate your case, prepare witnesses and evidence, collect judgments, and much more. 
 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.