Tennessee LLC – TN Limited Liability Company – LLC in Tennessee
The following table sets forth a comprehensive summary of this state’s LLC laws, filing requirements, taxation and more.
Keep in mind though, that the information in this table is subject to the whim of each state’s lawmakers, so the information is constantly changing.
It’s a good idea to do a reality check with the Secretary of State’s office to confirm that the information is still current.
|Secretary of State Contact Information||Tennessee Department of State
Division of Business Services
312 Eighth Avenue North
6th Floor, William R. Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243
|LLC Filing and Assistance Website Address||www.state.tn.us/sos/soshmpg.htm|
|LLC Filing Fees||Tennessee LLCs may organize by filing Articles of Organization . Foreign LLCs may register by filing an Application for Certificate of Authority to Transact Business. The fees for either organizing or qualifying are $50 per LLC member on the date of filing. The minimum filing fee is $300 and the maximum is $3,000. LLCs must also prepare and file a Certificate of Formation along with an additional filing fee of $20.|
|LLC Name Reservation Information and Fees||Tennessee offers informal name availability information by telephone at (615) 741-2286. Tennessee organizers may reserve a LLC name by filing an Application for Reservation of Name with the Division of Business Services accompanied by a $20 fee. The name reservation remains effective for four months.|
|Link to Get LLC Formation Forms||www.state.tn.us/sos/bus_svc/forms.htm|
|Periodic LLC Reporting Requirements||LLCs conducting business in Tennessee must file an Annual Report on the first day of the fourth month following the close of the fiscal year. The filing fees are identical to those for organizing or registering an LLC.|
|Link to Get LLC Tax Forms||http://tennessee.gov/revenue/forms/|
|LLC Tax Summary||Tennessee LLCs must file a Franchise, Excise Tax Return (FAE 170). The Franchise Tax is $.25 per $100 of the LLC’s net worth at the close of the tax year (minimum tax is $100). The excise tax is 6% on earnings from business conducted in Tennessee.|
|LLC Statute||Title 48, Chapters 201-248 of the Tennessee Code|
|Additional Information||The Division of Business Services publishes a Filing Guide for Limited Liability Companies which can be found at www.state.tn.us/sos/forms/fg-llc.pdf .|
Some Related Articles
Michael Spadaccini is the author of 8 books on self-help legal matters such as, Ultimate LLC Compliance Guide: Covers All 50 States (Ultimate Series), Ultimate Book of Forming Corps, LLCs, Partnerships & Sole Proprietorships, and Ultimate Guide to Forming an LLC in Any State, Second Edition (Ultimate Series).
You can view his Amazon Author Profile Here.