What follows is a brief but informative summary of rules, procedures, and filings requirements for small claims court in Mississippi. Keep in mind that rules and laws change. It’s always a good idea to confirm the rules with the court or with further research.
Maximum Jurisdictional Dollar Amount: The maximum dollar amount is $2,500.
Where Suit May Be Brought: Case may be brought where the defendant resides. Nonresident defendants may be sued where breach or injury occurred.
Proper Manner of Service of Process upon Defendant: Service may be made by Sheriff, constable, or disinterested adult. Service by disinterested adult requires a showing of need and requires the court’s permission)
How the Hearing Date Is Selected: The hearing date is set by the court.
Attorney Representation Rule: Attorneys are allowed.
Special Provisions Regarding Transfer or Jurisdiction of Cases: There is no provision.
Availability of Appeals: Either litigant may appeal for a new trial to Circuit Court within 10 days.
Special Rules and Notes: In Mississippi, Small Claims cases are heard in Justice Court. Some help to collect judgments is available.
Want to learn more?
Buy the book!
The Small Claims Court Guidebook from Entrepreneur Magazine and LearnAboutLaw .
The Small Claims Court Guidebook teaches you everything you need to win big in small claims court, without a lawyer. You’ll learn how to evaluate your case, prepare witnesses and evidence, collect judgments, and much more.
Some Related Articles
Michael Spadaccini is the author of 8 books on self-help legal matters such as, Ultimate LLC Compliance Guide: Covers All 50 States (Ultimate Series), Ultimate Book of Forming Corps, LLCs, Partnerships & Sole Proprietorships, and Ultimate Guide to Forming an LLC in Any State, Second Edition (Ultimate Series).
You can view his Amazon Author Profile Here.
Leave a ReplyWant to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!